About Bella’s Thoughts

This is a project that I began in my mind a number of years ago when I began reading some daily meditations. I had my own thoughts on many occasions and attempted to journal many times without success. It began to take shape when I took on another project for a Spiritual Advisor and dear friend who past away. I was graciously given permission by his family to share his writings on social media but only if I added my thoughts with his. I didn’t think I had much to say that was worth any value to anyone until I started to get an overwhelming amount of compliments and feedback.
This endeavor began with trepidation that turned into humble gratitude. Doing this also changed me from a scared little girl to a more confident, not cocky, woman. My sincerest and humble gratitude to Doug, his family, and my faithful readers. I also thank another special friend for guiding me in the beginning. I will be forever grateful to each of you.

You may recognize some things I say. Yes, I am a recovering addict. I don’t flaunt it but I don’t hide it either. After seeing so many young people dying and hearing the stigma and judgements from non-addicts I’ve chosen to share what’s been freely shared with me thru the years along with my own experiences.

My program of recovery has taught me about anonymity which is why I chose to use a pseudonym instead of my real name and I use the first letter of my last name. I also won’t share how long I’ve been clean because I hope if you’re an addict reading this that you won’t feel intimidated. I remember my early days of recovery thinking to myself, “Wow! That person hasn’t gotten high for THAT long?!? They went thru ‘that stuff’ and didn’t get high?!?” The answer is yes, they did, I did, and so can you. How did I do it? Well, read some of the things I have and will post.

Today with that demon in the genie bottle(just for today), I have new hopes, dreams and goals. One of my hopes is that someone reading my stuff will maybe want to publish my words. If that doesn’t happen it won’t be the end of the world. Just hearing that my words have helped someone tells me that I’ve accomplished my goal.

I am not a politically correct person and I don’t sugar coat “stuff”. I’ll be respectful with my language(since it can be colorful) but I’ll tell it like it is. All I ask is that if you choose to comment on anything(including other people’s comments), even if you vehemently disagree with it, please be respectful and I will show you respect. You can also find me on Facebook…

Leave a Reply

