“A Tongue Has No Bones…”

Written November 5, 2016

 

“A tongue has no bones, but it’s already strong enough to break a heart, and we can’t take back the words we’ve spoken or heal the wounds we’ve made, so be careful with your words.” ~Socrates

There are so many variations to this quote. I also like what Thumper said in the movie, “If you can’t say something nice, don’t say anything at all”.

Think for just a moment all the things you say to other people in a day, even a week, a month, or your lifetime. Now break that down into 2 categories – how many times did you say something nice and how many times we’re you mean, nasty or downright rude?

There are times when we’ve had a bad day and when we go to a store or we talk to a customer service representative on the phone we sometimes take our frustrations out on those people. Or we have a bad day at work(or at home), we come home(or to work) and vent on our loved ones(coworkers). Hey, I’m guilty as sin for doing that. Today I try try not to do it. Sometimes I need to ignore my phone or tell whoever happens to cross my path when I’m angry to give me time to cool off.

On the flip side of that, when we are nice to others and tell them to have a nice day it can have a positive effect. One time not to long ago I came out of the drug store and I was in a grouchy mood. I crossed paths with a gentleman I didn’t know and he smiled then told me to have a nice day. He didn’t even know I was in a bad mood but he also didn’t know he took the edge off of my grouchiness.

With all the words we have in our language why not use words to build each other up instead of tearing each other down. Saying a friendly hello to people you pass on the street or in the store might get you a funny look at first but you never know, it could be just the thing to brighten that person’s day.

Thought for the day: Use your words to build someone up today. You might be pleasantly surprised by the reaction you get.

2 thoughts on ““A Tongue Has No Bones…”

Leave a Reply

