Dr Martin Luther King on Forgiveness

Written October 1, 2016

“We must develop and maintain the capacity to forgive. He who is devoid of the power to forgive is devoid of the power to love. There is some good in the worst of us and some evil in the best of us. When we discover this, we are less prone to hate our enemies.” ~Dr Martin Luther King Jr

I wrote with with other thoughts in mind and before the election – before people had seemingly lost their minds. After listening to Dr MLK’s niece, Dr Alveda King, on tv this morning I decided to share it today more than ever. With the protests, riots and horrible negative media coverage over our future president, Mr Trump, we need to be reminded of the words Dr King spoke so many years ago.

Please, if you’re one of those “Not my president “ people, ESPECIALLY if you’re old enough to remember Dr Martin Luther King, listen to and heed his words. If you know nothing about him, just go to Youtube and listen to his “I Have A Dream” speech. It can be found in its entirety and with subtitles because recording and playback wasn’t the greatest back in his day. Listen to his words and see if you can apply them to life today.

There are some people in my life that I do not like. Some I don’t care for, some just dislike, and some that border on hate. Most of these people I don’t consider enemies but I sure wouldn’t mind punching them in the nose. However, Dr King was right when he said, “He who is devoid of the power to forgive is devoid of the power to love”. He talks about forgiving others and those of us who can’t are unable to have love for anyone, this even includes ourselves.

When we forgive we stop feeling anger toward and we stop blaming someone who has done something wrong. We also stop feeling anger about something. We don’t necessarily go up to the person, bop them on the head and say, “I declare you forgiven!” Of course if it were that easy none of us would hate anyone. We need to forgive that person in our hearts.

One thing that helps to do this is taking a look at our part in the situation. What did you do to cause this and this to happen? Did you say something or do something wrong? What could’ve been done or said to avoid what happened? It’s kind of like a spot inventory check of our own actions. When we’re able to do this we have a better understanding of how others, including our enemies feel. Sometimes no matter what we did or said could’ve changed the outcome.

If we have exhausted all of this and we still find it hard to forgive we can say a prayer to help us. The pray doesn’t need to be big and fancy. Just something asking your Higher Power to help you to find forgiveness, and that He/She bless that person and yourself with whatever He/She feels is needed for you both today.

We need to be able to do this because if we still can’t find forgiveness we end up resenting whatever or whoever hurt us. That is a poison that slowly kills us from our insides out. Eventually we become bitter, lonely people because we trust nor love anyone including ourselves.

The people in my life that are on my “poop” list? I’ve forgiven them on some level in my heart. I’ve had to because otherwise I’d be in a dark place that I was in once before. I had so much anger and hate inside that I even hated myself – and I’m not a person who generally hates anyone or anything aside from certain foods. Today I do my best to forgive others in my heart and choose to love them but leave them where they are at in their lives.

Thought for the day:

“Free of Resentment Prayer”( fill in blanks with person’s name)
God( or your Higher Powers name), free me from my resentment toward ______. Please bless ______ in whatever it is that You know they may be needing this day. Please give _____ everything I want for myself. And may ______’s life be full of love health, peace, prosperity, and happiness as they seek to have a closer relationship with You.

Leave a Reply

