Don’t put me on a pedestal

Written September 2, 2016

“Don’t put me on a pedestal, for I am sure to fall. Just love me as I am, flaws and all” ~Unknown

We all have at least one person in our lives that we look up to. That person(s), to us,  is perfect, flawless, full of wisdom, inspiration, experience and could/would never do anything wrong in our eyes. It could be anyone – a family member, lover, teacher, friend, or even me(if you know me that well).

Now, what would happen if I were to fail you or hurt you in some way whether it’s intentional or accidental? Maybe I say or do something hurtful. What if you and I have plans and I cancel at the last minute or I just don’t show up? Maybe you see me as someone who lives and breaths Spiritual Principles like patience, tolerance and acceptance but you see me not acting very Spiritually once or twice. How do you feel about me now? Probably not so good I’ll bet.

Not one of us is a perfect person, if we were we surely would be here on Earth. So what do you do when I fall from my pedestal in your eyes? Do you cast me aside, squash the relationship or turn your back to me? Maybe, but what you should do is talk to me about how you feel – “I feel…because you (said, did or I saw)you do….that you cancelled or didn’t show up…”

By sharing your thoughts and feelings you can understand me and even my motives more. Another thing that you can do is look at your own side of the street(look at yourself). Ask yourself if the feelings or expectations you have of me are reasonable or are you being selfish?

It’s all well and good to look up to another person who may have helped you somehow or said something that inspires you somehow as long as you understand that we’re all human. We all make mistakes. You just need to keep this in mind should I fall from my pedestal.

Thought for the day: “When a man points a finger at someone else, he should remember that four of his fingers are pointing at himself.” – Louis Nizer. Just as you are not perfect, neither am I nor anyone else. I only ask that you love me for who I am, warts and all.

Leave a Reply

