Daily Reflections Inspired by Doug

Written December 8, 2015

Note: Doug was my life mentor and a Spiritual Advisor for the brief time we knew each other before his passing in 2015. I repost these Reflections daily on my social media page. Every so often I’ll repost them as i proofread them. I give permission to share, not sell(per his family’s request. I do this to share what was freely shared with me…

Osda Sunalei – Morning Greetings
Daily Reflections Inspired by Doug

“The Wind still whispers its’ secrets thru the rustling leaves, the Brook still babbles, telling all it knows. The Birds still are singing their Songs to the Earth and to the Sky, the Day still Dawns bright and clear in the Eastern Sky. In the stillness you can hear them….And tomorrow will do the same….Seeing is more than meets the eye. Listening is more than hearing. Love Travels between the Worlds, like Sweetgrass and Music. Deepen Your Laugh and Smile lines, they are the Beauty and Joy of Life! Drink Deeply of the Magic always Here. Keep Dancin!!!!”  ~Doug 

Something to ponder…

When I read this I thought about the saying, almost a riddle, “If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?” Philosopher George Berkeley, in his work, A Treatise Concerning the Principles of Human Knowledge (1710), wrote this as a philosophical thought experiment that raises questions regarding observation and knowledge of reality(Wikipedia online). To me this is more like the fact that time continues on despite what happens in our lives.

There was a time in my not to distant past that I can remember trying to escape reality and what was going on in life. I thought that if I escaped into my own little world, that what was going on around me wasn’t really happening. Or if it was I could run away in my mind until it passed and I could freeze time until the point it was supposed to return to normal. I was sadly mistaken. Despite all my best efforts life continued on around and even past me.

I eventually came to realize that I wasn’t the only one to feel that way. Finally I met others who had done the same in their lives. With their help I came around to seeing that time and life go on with or without me. I could either get sucked into staying stuck in my own little world or I could deal with my thoughts and feelings and get thru my circumstances that were keeping me stuck.

Now I enjoy listening to the Wind whispering its’ secrets thru the rustling leaves, the Brook babbling, telling all it knows. I enjoy the Birds singing their Songs to the Earth and the Sky, and I can enjoy each Day as it Dawns bright and clear in the Eastern Sky. Mitakuye Oyasin  – We Are All Related. Toske Aske Waiciakinkte – Until We Meet Again(may Great Spirit guide you and Protect you!)

Leave a Reply

