Bella’s Thoughts on Forgiveness

Written November 20, 2016

“Forgive the past. It’s over. Learn from it and let it go. People are constantly changing and growing. Do not cling to a limited, disconnected, negative image of a person in the past. See that person now. Your relationship is always a lion and changing.” ~Brian Weiss

We’re all human and we all make, have made and will make mistakes. Granted some people make bigger mistakes than others but the fact of the matter is that none of us is perfect. It’s just a fact of life.

As a person who’s made plenty of mistakes and blunders alike, I’ve learned one important thing about mistakes. I’ve learned that it’s important to forgive not only the person who made the mistake but also myself when I make mistakes.

As children growing up, we learned by making mistakes. Many times we don’t listen to our parents when they tell us, “Don’t touch that, it’s hot and it’ll burn you.” If anyone is like me, you didn’t listen and the obvious happened. You were burned. The problem is that sometimes I learned and sometimes I had to touch it one more time to see if I’d get burned. 

Sometimes in life we have to learn things on our own for a variety of reasons. I have taken some wrong turns in my life that I mostly regret. Some days I feel like I’m a horrible person who’s unworthy of forgiveness. I regret what I did and the pain I’ve caused to my family, loved ones and friends. The only reason I don’t regret those wrong turns is because I have gained more knowledge and some personal experience to be able to reach one and teach one a little better. I’ve also learned more about myself in the process.

Yes, many people have forgiven me, but there are some who don’t trust me to this day and understandably so. The only thing I can do is to live the Spiritual Principles like I have been working to do daily to the best of my ability. At the same time I can’t change other people’s perception of me. All I can do is change myself and pray that they’ll see the the new me, and maybe one day forgive me.

Thought for the day…

It’s ok to feel regret and shame for the things you say and do or don’t say and do. Instead of feeling that way, try forgiving yourself and use your experience as a learning tool to use again when you need it.

Leave a Reply

