You ARE Important!!

Written October 22, 2014

“Just like the Trees in a forest, who all have their own role to fill, each one of us has a necessary and unique role to fill in the World. The differing varieties of Trees all stand together to make the Forest, and all contribute to the health of the Forest, just as we two-legged need to stand together and contribute what we can to the well- being of our Home, the Earth. Where you are is where you are needed.”  ~ Doug 

Something to ponder…

I’ve written before that “There’s no “I” in “team”. We all need help from time to time whether we are the ones giving the help or we are the ones who need it. There are times tho when we may not be capable to do the specific help that’s needed. It may be because we don’t have the resources, knowledge or the skills, or we physically are not able but, we may be able to help in other ways.

I’ve had many times when I wasn’t able to help another person because of those reasons. And quite a few of those times I felt worthless and useless. But, as always, a dear friend of mine told me, “You’re at where you’re at for a reason”. Actually, she had to drill it into my brain because I had always felt like Wonder Woman and could do anything and everything. When I fell short I was my own worst critic. When I FINALLY got it it thru my thick skull, my perception of myself changed. I realized that I AM useful and I CAN contribute in lots of ways even if I’m unable to in others.

The first job I had as a teenager was on a farm working in the fields picking vegetables. Despite the weather some days, I was still utilizing my abilities to contribute to the farm and the fruit stand. Each of us goes to our various jobs each day probably thinking your job is menial and you don’t contribute anything to society.

I’m here to tell you that you’re wrong. Each of us contributes SOMETHING no matter how big or small. If you work at any job – factory worker, doctor, waitress/waiter, lawyer, nurse, counselor, car salesman, even politicians – you are contributing something to society and even the world. You are, in one way or another, helping someone.  Even the homemaker, newspaper courier, or babysitter. With all the different abilities we have we all need to begin or continue to work together for the common good and welfare of the human race. Why do we need to do this? Like that famous Beatles song goes, “I get by with a little help from my friends…”. 

Leave a Reply

