Letting Go…

Written November 26, 2016

“Holding on is believing that there’s a past; letting go is knowing that there’s a future. “ ~Daphne Rose Kingma

I wrote not long ago about figuring out who I am and arranging my home the way I want it. Well I’ve been living in my parents house since my divorce a little over a couple years ago. A side note here; my father passed away a number of years ago. When I moved in after my divorce, I’d decided I would take care of my mom so she could come home from rehab after going thru a lengthy illness.

I should also note that before moving here my parents had a fairly large 3 bedroom house with an attic and basement plus a 2 car garage. As I was growing up and relatives began to pass away my parents ended up bringing home a lot of stuff. Before moving here to a 2 bedroom, full basement and 1 car garage, we were able to downsize them but not completely. Unfortunately a lot of stuff ended up coming home with me. When I left the home I shared with my ex husband I brought all that stuff here.

Early this summer I was going thru a tough time so I created a woman cave. As I was going thru some boxes I stumbled on a bunch of things that brought back a flood of memories – both good and not so good. I ended up overfilling my cave with to much stuff.

As I was sitting in my cave one night I looked around at all that stuff and had a Spiritual Awakening, if you will. I realized that I had A LOT of stuff. Instead of surrounding myself with people I was surrounding myself with “stuff”. I also realized that since there is really no one in my life to pass stuff down to(I have no children of my own and my niece doesn’t seem interested in anything), I had to get rid of a lot of things.

I found this to be a very difficult task to do but I’ve been pushing thru it a little more each day. I have to do this because I can’t take everything with me when I depart from this Earthly existence. Besides, who knows I may wanna go traveling some day and it’d be very difficult to do that if I have all this stuff.

So, despite the memories – good or bad – I have begun to downsize. I have allowed myself to reminisce and then let it go because that memory happened what seemed like a lifetime ago. There are still some things that I cling to and stuff like my mom’s jewelry that I can’t bear to go thru, today. It was painful enough to go thru and part with my dad’s tools but when I realized how many I had and that I couldn’t use most of them I remembered the lessons learned and said good bye.

Thought for the day: We all need to downsize once in awhile because stuff is just stuff even if there are memories attached. Allow the memory to come and go then find a new home for that item.

_____________________________

2 thoughts on “Letting Go…

  1. Great goods from you, man. I’ve take note your stuff prior to and you are simply extremely
    wonderful. I actually like what you’ve received right
    here, certainly like what you are stating and
    the way by which you say it. You are making it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible.
    I can’t wait to learn far more from you. That is really a
    terrific site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

