Bella’s Thoughts on Angels

Written September 13, 2016

“You can deny angels exist, convince ourselves they can’t be real. But they show up anyway, at strange places and at strange times. They can speak through any character we can imagine. They’ll shout through demons if they have to. Daring us, challenging us to fight.” ~Sucker Punch

I saw this quote and I wanted to write about it. I usually spend a few moments researching the author of quotes, especially if I know I’ve heard it before. For the life of me I can’t find another author nor a similar quote. No matter, I’m sure someone will let me know if they find it.

This is a pretty powerful quote if you think about it. Sure, we can deny that angels exist but they do show up when and where we least expect them. They can speak or even act thru anyone. Think of all the things in your life or the lives of people you know. Brushes with death averted, lives changed from bad to good because of one thought, one action, and all the acts of kindness just to name a few. I know my life has been affected by angels.

I can’t even count the times I was reckless in my life. I should’ve been dead numerous times, half of which were in my 20’s! I can also recount the times when I didn’t expect to get a job because I wasn’t qualified or pass a test because I didn’t study. What about the couple of times I didn’t expect to get a loan or a credit card because of poor credit.

And then there are times when I’ve hurt people and when I ask forgiveness I didn’t expect to be forgiven but I have been. I think of all the people who’ve helped me when I’ve had some pretty rough times. The things they’ve done or said have profoundly shaped or changed my life in one way or another.

In school I had been picked on because the religion I was brought up in “prayed to saints and angels”. I was told that I was a pagan(that I worshipped more than one God) which goes against the 2nd Commandment.  “Thou shalt have no others God’s before Me.”.  One day, I was particularly upset over all the teasing and I asked one of our religious leaders if what my school mates were saying was true. She told me that in a way we do pray to angels, however, the angels take our prayers to our Higher Power.

I can best describe it is this, the word “angel” in the Bible, loosely translates to  “messenger”. Even tho angels are generally depicted as heavenly beings, they are frequently appear as human messengers. Now, just as it did when I was a kid, makes sense to me. Looking back thru life I know I’ve had angelic help during those times someone said or did something that changed the course of life. One person I still call on once in awhile has been a tremendous helping hand when I’ve needed her. Her stature and her voice remind me of my image of an angel even.

For those who have a hard time believing that He hears all of our prayers, or those who don’t believe in Him for this reason, the angels hear our prayers and bring them to Him to answer the way He feels we need them answered. Sometimes that prayer is answered in various forms. It could be a song on the radio, something on tv, something someone says or something I read. One day in particular He actually gave me what I needed, when I needed it.

Thought for the day: If you don’t believe angels exist think about times in your life when someone had profoundly changed the course of your life. That person was your Angel, your messenger from your Higher Power

Leave a Reply

