Bella’s Thoughts on Music

“Music hath charms to soothe a savage breast. To soften Rocks, or bend a knotted Oak.” ~William Congreve


Written December 10, 2016


Yes, you read that correctly. It does say “breast” and not “beast” like I’ve always heard it said. This line comes from William Congreve’s play “The Mourning Bride” about the end or the beginning of the 17th century. He also wrote, “Music has the power to enchant even the roughest of people.” Honestly, in my research I found that it either he wrote it or it’s in Proverbs 151 – 175 but I haven’t found it in either place. But I digress…

Have you those days where you feel like the whole world is out to get you and you’re frustrated as hell? Maybe someone made you really mad and instead of blowing up on them you got in the car or put the headphones on and listened to some music with a really strong beat or maybe with calming, gentle sounds. Well, they say that music’s soothes the savage Beast(modern version of the word breast in the above quote). Basically the quote means that music helps to calm agitated emotions. 

Personally, I have a wide array of music, stuff like heavy metal, classic rock, Native American music, Indie music and all different kinds in between. I don’t necessarily pay attention to the words. Many times I find myself listening to and feeling the beat of the drums and the overall rhythm and beat. I’m told that Mother Earth(or Mother Nature) has heart sounds and a heartbeat too and when I get to feeling “some kind of way” I’m not in sync with Her rhythmic heartbeat. When I take that anger and frustration out on others I’m out of sync. 

Listening to music usually calms down this occasional beast and helps me to get back to my normal self. In my younger years when I got angry I’d throw, punch or hit something and/or usually break it. A couple times I hurt my hand and my wrist, broke hairbrushes and left a couple holes in my bedroom walls from throwing them. I finally stopped doing these things the right before I envisioned myself throwing my hairbrush thru my bedroom window. 

I guess my love for music began in elementary school when I sang in the chorus and it continued thru my high school years in band, chorus and general music classes, then into my adult life. As the years have flown by me, I don’t take my anger and frustration out on things like I used to. Instead I’m more apt to hop in my car and go for a ride with the tunes cranked up. Or I’ll put the music on at home, turn the volume up and clean, work out in the garden or work on some project. I’ve even been known to listen to music while I grocery shop or especially when I’m shopping at Wal-Mart. I also like to hear new music. On my social media page when I’ve posted something about music I told people to leave a comment about what their favorite song and/or artist is. I didn’t care about how offbeat or off the wall it may be. Every time I do this my library of music grows a bit more and we all had fun remembering tunes from days gone by.

Thought for the day: never underestimate the therapeutic power of driving and listening to loud music

Leave a Reply

