Time for Peacekeepers to Rise Up

Written January 22, 2014(edited 2016)

“Anyone can wage war. To wage Peace on the World, is to have courage. Courage to fall, courage to take anothers hand to Walk side by side, courage to Give. Peacemakers are Givers. Peacemakers know that Generosity is the other side of greed. Peacemakers Flow, they do not push, they allow room to breathe. Peacemakers have always been with us, and always will be. Let us wage Peace on the World…..we could call it World Peace One. From many Minds, One Thought…From many Hearts, One Feeling…From many Voices, One Word…..Love…. ~Doug 

Something to ponder…

Think about this. If someone wrongs you in some way which sounds easier to do? Getting revenge on the person or turning the other cheek and walking away? Generally, most people say getting revenge is easier. Why is this? Most of the time we humans react impulsively to a lot of things. This has gone on for millennia since man has walked the Earth.

There’s something else too, that stops us from making amends to others and that’s pride. I think this is what makes it to hard for us to make amends. What generally goes thru our minds when we are hurt by someone? I know f me, I tend to say to myself, “ How dare you think or say these kind of bad things about me. How dare you act or do these things to me.” The problem is that this only creates more violence and a vicious circle of people getting back at other people.

To be a Peacemaker does take courage. It’s not easy at all to stand up to someone offending or hurting you and say, “Enough. I’m not taking it anymore. You can’t hurt me because I choose to take the higher road of forgiveness, peace and serenity.” or something like that. Sometimes when we take the higher road and practice Spiritual Principles before personalities we get ridiculed, picked on and flat out bullied. It takes a lot of courage and humility to keep walking away. It takes courage to tell someone who’s tearing you down to have a nice day. It also takes courage to stay silent and not respond to someone that’s yelling at you and tearing you down.

You see, lots of times people start fights with us to get a reaction out of us, to get us to fight back. When we don’t feed into it with our negative response the fight goes nowhere. This does actually work. I know because I’ve done it myself. Don’t get me wrong, it’s hard as hell to do this but if I want more peace and serenity in my life this is what I need to do. It’s what we all need to do to bring about peace.

Leave a Reply

