The Truth About the We Live In( 2 of 2)

Written August 6, 2016

***A reminder to all who read my writing, I ask you do not leave any derogatory comments. If you do not like what I’ve written just politely leave the page but perhaps contemplate what you read. Find out for yourself if what I’ve written is true. There’s a lot I’ve wanted to write about as far as current events. I do my best to write as objectively and honestly as I can. I also do my best to research what I write. Like my mom used to say, “ Think before you speak” or in this case write..

“Everything we know about the truth is subject to revision.” ~Anonymous

I find myself very emotional today. I’m not talking about the crazy hormonal emotional, I’m talking about the emotional that one feels when they see something that brings out all of their emotions. Before I get going, I want to remind everyone that I’m really not fond of the whole political mess, but I must admit I’ve watched the news regarding the presidential election. I wasn’t pleased with either choice we had, however the one who was chosen MAY be the lesser of 2 evils. I do ask that you keep an open mind and take the names away while reading. You’ll see where I’m going soon.

To start with, I was born just after Martin Luther King, the War in Korea and at the end of the Vietnam War and all the major civil unrest(yes, now you know about how old I am! Lol!). There may have been some civil unrest or racism in pockets of of the country but since there wasn’t any 24 hour news we knew what little we saw. Other than that life growing up in the 70’s and 80’s, as I knew it, was pretty quiet. Life, even in my small town, was fairly decent. I don’t remember hearing to much poverty, racism, addiction, or overall discord, until probably the mid – late 1990’s and it’s continued to spiral downhill into the turn of the century even into present day.

Back then, as a kid growing up in the 80’s, we still had a few good, booming factories to work at my town in our lil corner of the world. During the 90’s many of the factories and other companies started packing up and moving, drastically shrinking their work force, or closing up altogether. Why you might ask? A few reasons actually. There were bigger factories that had a newer, better, more efficient ways of doing things. Some companies went overseas to cut company production costs. Others were just not able to keep up with the bigger companies that popped up seemingly out of nowhere overnight. You saw that especially with certain department and/or grocery stores.

Since then, more and more factories, stores and companies in our lil town left for whatever reason as did others. This didn’t happen just in our lil corner of the world either. It’s happened in lots and lots of lil towns in lots and lots of lil corners of the world. When the businesses closed up, people either moved away to find work, tried to find other work in town, or they just gave up altogether and lived in poverty or below poverty until the day they died.

Over time, crime started to increase. Crimes like shoplifting from stores and other relatively petty crimes like that. Many people turned to drugs and/or alcohol to cope with the emotional burden. Then as addictions to alcohol and/or drugs increased so did the crimes. Burglaries, DWI, armed robberies, and yes, even murder. It didn’t matter if you were white, black, brown, or blue. People started killing people all over the place. And as much as some people might not like you to believe this, I have a news flash for ya. None of these crimes(in particular murder) had anything to do with the color of someone’s skin. I’ll rephrase that. It USUALLY had nothing to do with color. If you are a rainbow colored drug dealer you get shot – by other dealers or police officers. By the way, this didn’t, rather doesn’t, happen in just our sleepy lil town. We thought because of our size and location we were immune to these crimes. How wrong we were.

Back to the police for just a moment. Now, I ask that you read these words very carefully – if you’re a rainbow color drug dealer, or any other criminal(hands up, move this way or that), and you 1) threaten an officer in any way or 2) do not comply with their demands, expect to be manhandled or shot. Keep this in mind too, it’s not policy to shoot or manhandle a criminal, even for the officers who are real…um, jerks. The policy for ANY police officer is to protect the citizens of their communities, catch the lawbreaker and to come home safe. That’s it, period.

Fast forward to the present day. In the present day we have corruption in all levels of government. On one hand the rich are getting richer and getting away with fewer consequences to any crimes they commit. Then on the other hand you have the poor getting poorer and having more restrictions put on them by the rich and elite. Now the poor are rising up in protest whether it’s Black Lives Matter, the Tea Party, or groups that are far political left or far political right. Next thing you know, what we have on our hands is Political Correctness run amok and racism in reverse(both topics for another day). To sum it up, everyone seems stuck in “self” – selfishness, self-serving, self centeredness, and self obsession.

What we all so desperately need is to put all of this crazy rhetoric aside, practice Spiritual Principles instead of using our Personalities. Many of us preach about tolerance yet we are actually intolerant. And it’s not just a certain group of people. It’s all of us everywhere. We need to start to use our anger to motivate and build, not to destabilize and destroy. There are an awful lot of people on this little planet we call home. All tolled about 7.4 BILLION people on this planet. That a WHOLE LOTTA people! And each one of us, whether we are the ones doing the yelling, getting yelled at, the criminal, the victim, the homeless person, the VP of a company, the drug addict/alcoholic or J.Q.Doe just trying to make a life for himself in this world, we are all going thru something that no one knows about. However we can probably identify with each other on some level. How about we stop the yelling, the race baiting, etc and work on treating each other with more kindness. In case anyone forgot, Mitakuye O’yasin – We Are All Related.

Guns n Roses  “Civil War”

What we’ve got here is failure to communicate.
Some men you just can’t reach…
So, you get what we had here last week, which is the way he wants it!
Well, he gets it!
N’ I don’t like it any more than you men.” *

Look at your young men fighting
Look at your women crying
Look at your young men dying
The way they’ve always done before

Look at the hate we’re breeding
Look at the fear we’re feeding
Look at the lives we’re leading
The way we’ve always done before

My hands are tied
The billions shift from side to side
And the wars go on with brainwashed pride
For the love of God and our human rights
And all these things are swept aside
By bloody hands time can’t deny
And are washed away by your genocide
And history hides the lies of our civil wars

D’you wear a black armband
When they shot the man
Who said, “Peace could last forever.”
And in my first memories
They shot Kennedy
An’ I went numb when I learned to see
So I never fell for Vietnam
We got the wall of D.C. to remind us all
That you can’t trust freedom
When it’s not in your hands
When everybody’s fightin’
For their promised land

And
I don’t need your civil war
It feeds the rich while it buries the poor
Your power hungry sellin’ soldiers
In a human grocery store
Ain’t that fresh
I don’t need your civil war

Look at the shoes you’re filling
Look at the blood we’re spilling
Look at the world we’re killing
The way we’ve always done before
Look in the doubt we’ve wallowed
Look at the leaders we’ve followed
Look at the lies we’ve swallowed
And I don’t want to hear no more

My hands are tied
For all I’ve seen has changed my mind
But still the wars go on as the years go by
With no love of God or human rights
‘Cause all these dreams are swept aside
By bloody hands of the hypnotized
Who carry the cross of homicide
And history bears the scars of our civil wars

“WE PRACTICE SELECTIVE ANNIHILATION OF MAYORS AND GOVERNMENT OFFICIALS
FOR EXAMPLE TO CREATE A VACUUM
THEN WE FILL THAT VACUUM
AS POPULAR WAR ADVANCES
PEACE IS CLOSER” **

I don’t need your civil war
It feeds the rich while it buries the poor
Your power hungry sellin’ soldiers
In a human grocery store
Ain’t that fresh
And I don’t need your civil war
I don’t need your civil war
I don’t need your civil war
Your power hungry sellin’ soldiers
In a human grocery store
Ain’t that fresh
I don’t need your civil war
I don’t need one more war

I don’t need one more war
Whaz so civil ’bout war anyway

Leave a Reply

