Burning Bridges

Wriiten January 25, 2016

“The hardest thing to learn in life is which bridge to cross and which bridge to burn” ~David Russell
In case no one realizes it, this quote is a metaphor and a saying. It could even be considered a life hack. “A life hack refers to any trick, shortcut, skill, or novelty method that increases productivity and efficiency, in all walks of life”(Wikipedia). This quote says, “Depending on how you want to live your life, whether it’s good or bad, is up to who you have in your life and who you cut out”

As an addict going into a recovery program I was told to change my people in my life. Before I was told this I had all kinds of people I called friends. These were people who were drunks and addicts. They weren’t my friends. True friends are people are those special people who see you at your best and still love you at your worst. They stick by you no matter what happens – the good, the bad, the ugly and the REALLY ugly.

I have been fortunate to have some really awesome people in my life. They’ve seen and known who I am in all of those scenarios I just listed. Thru finance, romance, death, illness and even mood swings. These are the people I consider family. They have been there when life was a bed of roses and also when the chips were down.

I’ve also been unfortunate to have people in my life who don’t know me or my heart and they either take advantage of me, order me around, fight with me, spread untrue gossip about me and other things. These people can best be described as toxic people. I learned some time ago from another dear friend about people like this and how their toxicity stifles my growth as a woman. This person that enlightened me as he spoke about these kinds of people told me that for my own sanity, I had to distance myself from these people.

Now I will be the first to tell you that this is very difficult to do. I’ve been reluctant to do this with some people for various reasons. The main reason is that I still care about them on some level. At the same time, if I want to live a more peaceful life away from drama and chaos I need to do this – even if it’s a family member .

Thought for the day: To live a more peaceful and healthy way of life, sometimes it’s better to step away from the people in our lives that cause us pain and heartache

Leave a Reply

