Stop and Smell the Roses

Written February 12, 2014(edited 2016)

“Enjoy the scenery as you move along the River of Life. Pull your canoe up to the shore from time to time, pick and eat some berries and taste the sweetness of Creation. Take your time and don’t hurry. Play a Flute…or a Drum….Rattle…play Guitar, any instrument….a radio even….make some Music. Each moment is important and full of meaning, worthy of attention. Just like the painter/artist who can see the finished picture in their minds eye, before it is even started, see the your World, in the colors of Healing. See it, to receive it…” ~Doug 

 
Something to consider…
Our lives are very much like journeys down paths or rivers. Along the way there are twists and turns where we’re guided one way or another. We come across obstacles like rapids, boulders, fallen trees, etc. All these things can be compared to events that happen in life like starting or leaving a job, marriage or divorce, death of a loved one and so many other things. Many times we get so busy so busy in life that we don’t get a chance to enjoy it. We rush around from morning til night with our jobs, our families and all of our other obligations and responsibilities for days, weeks, months, even years without stopping. 
This is all well and good except we forget one thing, ourselves. To be a responsible, productive members of society we have certain things we have to do. Here’s the question tho. If you’re running around all day,every day for extended amounts of time, are you happy? I mean really and truly happy? I’m betting many of you are saying no. Stopping to take a break and “pull your canoe up to the shore from time to time” may seem selfish to some people, especially those of us who are caregivers, but when we do this we recharge our batteries. Often when we start getting irritable with those around us it means it’s time to do just that. Pull your canoe onto the shore and take a break. 
I myself have had many times when I’ve taken on to many things in my life. Then when things started getting out of hand I’d get irritable, cranky and sometimes downright bitchy. This is when I gotta take a timeout for me. Maybe I tell to many people that yes, I’ll help them or I have a really long list of things to do and think I’m the only one who can take care of it all. But if I just stop for a bit to enjoy a cup of coffee or even sitting on the shore of a nearby river or lake I can recharge myself and can then carry on my way usually in a much healthier way. 
Taking a step back, saying no, asking for help or just taking a break isn’t selfish. It’s actually far from it. It’s taking care of you so that you can be the best you there is. Sometime today pull your canoe to the shore and stop to smell the roses. In the end you won’t regret it, I promise you. 

Leave a Reply

