Who Are You?

Written February 17, 2014(edited 2017)

“Who are you? Not your name, not what you do, not what your kids call you, or your spouse calls you, or your ethnicity. To answer that, we need to look into the Light, and the Shadows. Shadows used to be used to tell the time of day, the direction, even the seasons can be told from shadows. Shadows can also teach us deep secrets about ourselves, and our journey with Spirit. Stand in the Light, see your Shadow.” ~Doug

Something to ponder…

I remember reading this last year and asking myself that question. I also remembered some time ago a friend of mine asked me this question. I discovered that this was something that only I, myself, can answer. No one can answer it for me just like no one can answer that question for you but you and you alone. It’s also not something that can be answered off the top of our heads.

For myself I had to get quiet. Not just with my physical voice but with my inner voice too. I went for drives and walks or I worked in the garden, with or without music. I thought about my likes and dislikes, what I wanted and didn’t want in my life. Do I like pink more than blue? What kind of music or food did I like and I thought of my hopes and dreams. If anyone has watched “Runaway Brides” with Julia Roberts, there’s a rather comical teaching lesson. She is asked how SHE likes her eggs because every time she’s with another boyfriend she ate her eggs the way her boyfriend at the time did.

Also, I had to let go of all that was negative in me; negative self talk, thoughts of others and what they thought of me and any other negative thoughts I had going thru my head. I had to forgive those who hurt me along with myself and figure out my part in a lot of things. Even after all of my internal reflection I came up with this much – I am me, an over-caring caregiver. It’s in my nature. It makes no difference if it’s human, animal or even plant. Even when I’m not trying to take care of anyone I still find myself doing it in some form.

I may not know who I am 100% but I know what I want in and out of life. What is most important tho is that today I am the real, true, authentic me that I can be – messy quirks and all.

Leave a Reply

