Beauty is Only Skin Deep

Written March 8, 2017

“Beauty isn’t about having a pretty face. It is about having a pretty mind, a pretty heart, and most importantly a beautiful soul.” ~Anonymous

Ah beauty within… I’m sure we all know the pressure to have the perfect body, the best clothes, prettiest face and hair, yadda, yadda, etc and so on. Much of this pressure comes from tv, movies, magazines athletes and even from people around us. Whether it’s our romantic partner or friends we tend to judge each other based on our outer looks. We even judge ourselves when we think we’re not enough this or that. Many of us have a hard time looking into another person’s heart.

I’ve always tried to look nice on the outside. No, I’ve never bought the real high end fashions but I could put together a pretty damn good outfit using secondhand clothing and accessories.  As time marched on and life happened(as it always does), my 20yr old body changed. Between health issues and older age, my pretty face and hair changed and my petite size 2 body grew a couple sizes bigger. Now I dress for comfort and less for fashion. Don’t get me wrong, I still try to look good only now I’m more comfortable and not as pretty – at least in my mind.

I guess I realized how picky we are the other day when I discovered one man in my life wasn’t interested in me because of my looks. It really hit home when I decided to browse an online dating site. I flipped thru profile after profile and and didn’t like what I saw. It was a either because guys didn’t look that good, their had really good jobs plus insecurities about my own looks. Amazing the crazy stuff we tell ourselves especially when it comes to dating. “I would never date this person because…” or “This person wouldn’t want to date me because…”

There’s one thing I’ve noticed when it comes to appearances and dating. Many times when we date someone based on their outer appearances the relationship doesn’t last. Just look at Hollywood, musicians and athletes if you don’t believe me. Many of these people have had numerous relationships and marriages.

To find lasting and meaningful relationships we need to look within. We need to look into each other’s hearts. Does this person have unconditional love? Are they loyal and faithful? Do they have a sense of humor? Morals, values and principles? How does this person treat their friends and family? How to they carry themselves? Are they arrogant, shy, overconfident, codependent?  These are some of the main things we need to consider when we’re in romantic relationships. If we do this perhaps we can have fewer broken hearts and divorces.

Thought for the day: To find the love of a lifetime, look beyond the fancy clothes and body shape because true beauty lies within.

Leave a Reply

