Bella’s Thoughts on Dreams

Written March 10, 2017

“Dreams at first seem impossible, then seem improbable, and finally, when we commit ourselves, become inevitable.” ~Mahatma Gandhi

When we’re growing up, most of us were taught to have goals and to dream big. We were often asked what we wanted to be when we grew up. Some of you might remember saying things like doctor, firefighter, police officer, and even president. As we got older we changed our minds to more down to earth dreams and goals. Ultimately, we settle on a choice as we start going thru our 20’s, even if we settle on nothing.

Some of us may set goals based on what we’re passionate about or what we’re talented at doing. This could be sports or the arts(music, writing, painting). To follow these goals is risky. It’s a crap shoot if we’re going to be successful or not. Others follow ambitious goals like being a doctor, lawyer, or big business owner. Then something happens. Maybe we begin to follow that dream and think we’ve bitten off more than we can chew. Then there’s another group of us who are either working towards a dream or were at our dream job and something happens that stops us in our tracks. This could be job loss, an accident or illness, or any number of things. When this happens we tend to lose faith in our dreams and goals.

After I went thru a series of bad events, zigging when I should’ve been zagging, thru the years, I woke up one day and took a look at my own life. I realized I’d lost who I was as a person and I’d lost my passion for life itself. I was just going thru the motions. I spent some time reflecting on what I wanted in life. After spending time with the music on and cleaning or gardening, it came to me. Besides being a caregiver by nature I also realized that I had a lot of people who enjoyed my writing. It even helped some people. Tho I never really was a writer, I am creative. I just started writing and kept going. I had a lot of stuff on my heart and mind, plus I came across lots of quotes that gave me ideas and inspiration.  My hope is to be published someday but if not just knowing I helped one person by sharing my experience, strength and hope is enough for me.

No matter how old you are or what you’ve done(or not done) in life, you can always start over again with new dreams and goals. Maybe you need to finish high school or take a couple college classes. Maybe you need to (re)discover what you’re passionate about in life. Whatever you need to do to accomplish your goal or dream – do it.

Thought for the day: To close with a quote, “Hoping for the best, prepared for the worst, and unsurprised by anything in between.” ~ Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

