Blessings

March 14, 2014(edited 2017)

“Another day of Blessings. Sing out Your Blessings today, even if you think you can’t sing, or other people tell you you can’t sing. Sing out with Joy, Sing with the Birds, Sing the Song Creator gave you and let your Heart be Heard. And if it is Sorrow you feel, Sing your Sorrow. It is all necessary. We each have a part in Singing the Song of the Universe, it all is Harmony.” ~Doug

Something to ponder…

Let’s keep it simple sweethearts 🙂

Today I wake up with gratitude in my heart. I have a roof over my head, food in the fridge, friends who care about me…I could go on but you get my point. I have so many things to be grateful for today. That wasn’t always so true. I was in a pretty dark place for a good 6 to 8 months a couple years ago. It was so dark that I wished I could go to sleep and not wake up. I could not find any joy – not even in the smallest positive things that happened. I always found something to complain about and I saw no light at the end of tunnel. What I didn’t know was that there were lessons I needed to learn inside of those most trying times.

The first lesson was that to appreciate the good things in my life, I needed to appreciate the bad too. I even had to learn to be grateful for the days it rained, even tho I wanted it to be sunny. My Higher Power wanted me to not only appreciate the sun but also the life giving rain. Or perhaps I was need elsewhere or do something else more important that day.

Today when I’m down in the depths of depression and acting like a spoiled brat because things are not going my way that day, I must remember to sit down and make a gratitude list. I start by listing the smallest things – even if it is because I woke up that morning. There’s always a lesson for me to learn when I’m down in the dumps and it seems like the universe is against me. Believe it or not, there’s always SOMETHING to be grateful for and for that I am truly grateful.

Leave a Reply

