A Friend in Need

Written April 26, 2017

“A Friend In Need Is A Friend Indeed” ~ Unknown

Many of my loyal readers know I like to give credit to the author of the quotes that I use. Sometimes that’s not always possible no matter how much I scour the Web or how many ways I put the question into the search engine. I saw one place that gave credit to Mark Twain, another saying it was a proverb( a short popular saying, usually of unknown and ancient origin, that expresses effectively some commonplace truth or useful thought) and yet another calling it an idiom(a phrase or expression that has a figurative, or sometimes literal , meaning). Whatever the case may be, when I read this, I was reminded of friends I’ve had over the years. I’m sure most of you can relate to today’s post.

I remember when I was in elementary school, I was friends with most everyone in my grade. That all changed when I started high school. Shortly after we started our first year there, we all separated and went different directions.  Many of those kids I considered my friends fell into different clicks like preps and jocks while others were nerds/geeks. Then there was another group. These people were considered the losers or misfits because they didn’t fit into any category. This was the group I identified with. I probably could’ve fit in somewhere else but I knew early on that these were kids who were true friends.

After high school, some of my friends went to our local college while some left the area for higher education.  I stayed friends with some of them but over the years we drifted apart and I found new friends. As the years rolled by, I began to lose contact with my classmates but sometimes I would run into them in the store, the doctor’s office and eventually on social media. Some I never saw again until our class reunions.

Many of the new friends I made over the years are still in my life in some capacity even if we don’t talk to each other every day or for extended periods of time. There is one friend who has remained for the better part of my adult life. She is the one that has been a part of virtually everything in my life – the good, the bad, the ugly, and the really ugly. She has been there for me when others weren’t. We have laughed and cried together as well as fought with each other. I do mean we literally fought with each other with our fists!

While I know I can count on her for almost anything in life, she isn’t always able to be there when I need her. I may not like it but I understand because sometimes life gets in the way. There are also times when I can’t always be there for her. However, we both know that if one of us really needed the other, we would drop everything to be there for the other.

Over the years, I’ve made other friends who’ve become more like family to me. These are also people who will also drop everything to help me and I would do the same for them. Many of them helped me when I need them before and during my divorce, when I had problems caring for my mother, and even today as I go thru yet another life change. Recently, I had to drop my car off at a garage to leave overnight but I needed a ride home. My best friend had fallen ill that night and wasn’t able to help but the first friend that I called on from the other group was able to help me out.

I must admit, I’ve met a lot of different people in my life over the years.  People with different personalities, lifestyles, and life experiences. Some days I can’t imagine what life would be like without them. Even tho I may go days, weeks, months or even years without speaking to them I’m still grateful they’re in my life. This includes my friends I’ve met thru social media. Each and every one of friends have helped me in some way, shape or form. From words of comfort, inspiration,  and encouragement to hugs or suggestions to problems. I know I am loved. At the risk of sounding cliche, I get by with a little help from my friends.

Thought for the day: To all of my friends, I am grateful to each and every one of you who are and have been a part of my life.

A Friend In Need Is A Friend Indeed

Bea Williams, July 2011

Friends are far, friends are near,
Friends will be there to lend an ear.
They listen, laugh, and care,
But most of all, they’re always there.

Through thick and thin, up and down,
Your true friends are always around.
For treats, hugs and real big smiles,
They’ll travel to you from several miles.

They’ll always be there to hold you tight.
Anytime, no matter if it’s day or night,
You really know when your friends are sincere,
When they always show up to lend their ear.

Leave a Reply

