The Bucket List

Written April 30, 2017

“The way you are living will have been your life” – Unknown

We’ve all heard someone say or we have said it ourselves. “I’m going to put that on my Bucket List.” So what the heck is a “Bucket List”? It’s a list of all the goals you want to achieve, dreams you want to fulfill and life experiences you want to experience before you die. It probably gained notoriety after the 2007 movie “The Bucket List”. It is a comedy-drama film starring Jack Nicholson and Morgan Freeman that follows two terminally ill men on a road trip with a wish list of things to do before they “kick the bucket.”

I used to see emails and social media posts once in awhile that was a list of stuff the one may or may not have done in their life. What the receiver was supposed to do was to check off things you have or haven’t done in life. Some things were silly like the “Have you ever sang in the shower?” while others were “Have you ever traveled outside of your state or country?” It was a fun thing to do once in awhile. But what if you really were going to “kick the bucket” in a certain amount of time?

I have no idea how much time I have left in this world but yet at the same time, I know I’m not getting any younger. I remember thru my 20’s and much of my 30’s doing all kinds of fun things in the summer with my best friend.  Things like hiking, swimming, fishing, camping, going to our county’s fair, other local festivals, or just go for a ride on a rainy day. We called it the loop around the lake and we’d stop at local fruit stands, garage sales and other local shops. Unfortunately, over the last few years, we’ve done fewer and fewer things in the summer and each fall I kick myself because I didn’t do a fraction of the things I wanted to for one reason or another. It has really started to affect me the last few months.

I’ve had some health issues the last couple of years but none of my doctors can really definitively tell me what’s wrong. They treat my symptoms with pills, those, side effects with another pill and send me on my way. No one cause is linked to another. One day on my way to an appointment out of town, a song I knew and loved came on and I listened to the words as I sang them. Each time I sang a verse I looked at my life and how I’d been living it, or not living it, the last few years.

Since that day, I’ve decided to make some changes. The first thing I’ve been working on changing is to learn to be more present in the moment. Quite often if I’m doing something fun, I am thinking of things that I need to do or stuff I should be doing other than having fun doing what I was doing. Rarely have I ever enjoyed the moment before it was over.

So this year I decided to do something slightly different. Instead of a bucket list of stuff before I die, I’m doing one for the summer. I want to do a bunch of things that I haven’t done or things I haven’t been doing the last few years. Even if we have little to no money there are things we can do in this lil corner of the world. It doesn’t have to be extravagant. I just want my best friend and I to be able to look back when it’s snowing and blowing outside and say, “Remember this past summer when we…?” “Yeah, I remember when you did…”. Even if our adventure had some major problem we can look back and giggle a little about it and decide to do things differently the next time.

No, I can’t make up for the time that was lost but I can do everything in my power to change it going forward. Yes, I will be busy with moving into my new home(which I will own) and I will need to get settled. I can however play hookie from housework and enjoy whatever comes my way that day. Besides, isn’t that what rainy days are for?

Thought for the day: This is the short version of My Summer Bucket List(I hope to do all these things at least once if not more):

Go to places like

Panama Rocks

The gorge

The beach

Flea markets

Antique shops

Kinzua country

Any place in nature

Do things like

Hike of course

Garage sales

Swim(well maybe wade into) Lake Erie

Paint my nails every or every other week

Camp out

Make a new garden at my new home

Leave a Reply

