“Hate is to Great a Burden”

Written November 20, 2016(edited 2017)

“I have decided to stick with love. Hate is to great a burden to bear.” ~Dr Martin Luther King Jr.

In light of last night’s events in Manchester England, I wanted to write something but I found myself having writers block. The following is one of my earlier posts that I edited a bit for today. Before I continue, I would like extend my deepest and sincerest thoughts, prayers and condolences to my friends across the pond. What happened in Manchester England brings back memories of our own tragedy in New York City on September 11, 2001. The only difference is that this involved children, our future who will inherit this Earth after some of us are long gone. How we take care or not take care of this scourge that plagues this Earth will speak volumes to our children and their children’s children.

Think about that last sentence. “Hate is great a burden to bear.” How do you feel when you hate someone, some place or some things? How do you feel physically, mentally, emotionally, even spiritually? Feels kinda crappy huh? Maybe your stomach is upset. You are either not hungry or you overeat. Maybe you feel like there’s two tons of weight on your shoulders. Mentally you may not be able to concentrate, emotionally you are either sad, hurt, angry, or all of the above. Spiritually you might feel empty. And that’s just a short list of how you may feel.

Holding on to those feelings actually hurts your body like taking poison. It increases your chances for a heart attack, cancer or stroke. The very least that can happen is you might have sleeping problems, stomach ulcers, depression or severe nausea. This is just a short list of health problems we experience.

When we hate a person place or thing we have intense hostility and aversion. It usually comes from a place of fear, anger, or sense of injury. Having hate in your heart oftentimes turns into a resentment, or a grudge, whether it’s conscious or not. Holding a resentment is like you taking poison and waiting for the person you hate to die. Many times tho, the one holding the resentment and the one drinking the poison is the one who dies little by little, bit by bit.

I’ve learned this the hard way. I haven’t had problems with a heart attack or stroke, but I have had other issues. I’m unable to do half the things I used to due to pain and heart issues. I was told it’s because of stress. Even tho I created a “woman cave” and I play in the garden it’s not enough. Posting all the positive affirmations and platitudes helps for a short time. The only way that I can possibly turn this around is to release my resentments and live the positive stuff I write.

I try talking to others to see if I’m the only one with crazy thoughts. Usually I’m not the only one who feels the way i do. One thing I need to do is to look at my part in the situation and make amends when possible. I also need to work towards forgiving that person even if it’s only in my heart. Whatever the case may be, the feeling of love is much better than hate. Sure I need to make other lifestyle changes like eating right and exercising too. Not to say that I haven’t been working on that already but I need to step up my game. I don’t want to have a heart attack and open heart surgery at an early age. Tho I’m not afraid to die, I don’t want to at an early age.  

Now I know that it is very early to work towards forgiving the barbarians who did this, but really it’s not. The longer we hold that poison in, the more it affects us. What we can look at in this incident and others that have happened in the past is the outpouring of humanity in the wake of these attacks. No peace, love and flowers won’t fix anything, but forgiveness will help to heal the hurt we feel. Today let us begin to heal, not get over it, but to heal the hurt in our hearts. 

Thought for the day: What anger and hatred are you holding on to? Wouldn’t it be nice to lighten that load?

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

2 thoughts on ““Hate is to Great a Burden”

Leave a Reply

