What Matters In Life

Written May 23, 2017

“It’s not what we have in life, it’s who we have in our life that matters.” ~J.M. Laurence

As the years fly by, I see how true this quote is. There have been times in my life when I had all I needed and wanted. I didn’t have a whole lot of worry. I had quite a bit of material things, food in the cupboards and money in my pocket. That is until a few of things happened and a couple people in life have knock me down.

The first event was a surgery I had to have in my younger days. Because of that, I was laid up in the hospital and at home for longer than I expected. Consequently I didn’t get a paycheck for a while but I was able to bounce back from that.

A couple years later a fire ripped the the apartment house that I lived in. I lost pretty much everything that had meaning but I still had my life. I was also able to save a few trinkets and bobbles. That was my first lesson in the value of life vs material things. Even tho I recovered physically with material things it wouldn’t be until months later that I recovered mentally but it took me years to recover spiritually.

Years later, the world as I knew it was pretty good. Not perfect but not horrible either. Seemingly out of the blue, my world as I knew it turned upside down and inside out again. Divorce, caring for an ill mother, joblessness and illness landed me on hard times again. I’ve had times when I went without food and others things. I’m still in the process of bouncing back from that stuff.

I won’t lie, it’s been really difficult trying to make it thru all of these trying times. I’ve had times the I wanted to say screw it, run away and never come back. Fortunately I’ve had many people help me to get thru these times. I’ve come to realize that having people rally around me is more important than anything. Having friends who’ve cared about me when I could care less for myself and have helped me get back on me feet each time I’ve fallen on hard times has been more precious than gold. It’s also very humbling. These friends have shared kind words, a cup of coffee with a shoulder to cry on, and even money or food when I needed it.

The friends who’ve stayed in my life have saved my life more times than I can count. Especially my best friend of 25+ years. Their pearly words of wisdom have kept me from going back to doing the stupid things I’ve done in my younger years. Granted I don’t have contact with all these people on a daily or even weekly basis but one thing I do know is this, if I ever need their help again, I only need to call on them.

Hearing things like “This too shall pass”, “Don’t add fuel to the fire”, “Just for today” and telling me to do a gratitude list have all been very helpful – even if I didn’t want to hear any of it. Their words stick with me even when I’m at my lowest. Tho I may not have everything I want in life, I do have everything I need. This makes me the richest woman in the world and for that I am truly grateful.

Thought for the day: When you have nothing to offer to a person yet they help you anyway you not only have a true friend but you also have something that’s more valuable than gold.

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

2 thoughts on “What Matters In Life

  1. This is so true – you find who your true friends are when you are at your worst. I’m glad you have awesome people in your life. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

