“A Time for Everything…”

Written April 1, 2016 (edited June 2017)

“There is an appointed time for everything, A time for every activity under the heavens:”

Have you ever looked back at pictures you’ve taken and remembered when a certain picture was taken? Good times or bad, no matter how young or old you are, you most likely remember when, where and what was going on that day. Maybe you start to feel the feelings of that day and then in a flash you’re thinking of how things have changed since then. You think of all the good and/or bad things have happened since that day 5, 10, 20, even 40 years or more ago. I’ve experienced an awful lot of that lately.

I think it really started during the time of my divorce when I was trying to separate our pictures that I’d previously put together in one box. It really came to a head these last few days and weeks as I sort thru my parents things. As I flipped thru the pictures I remembered much of the fun, the growth, the family, and…the traditions.

We weren’t a huge family on either side of my parents but we made the most of it. My mom’s side of the family used to celebrate every holiday and every birthday.  Actually, there were a couple of months when we had 2 or 3 birthdays that month. Those months we celebrated those 2 or 3 at one time. My birthday was one of those months we celebrated all of them on one day. It was me, my mom and my grandmother(mom’s mom). My father’s side of the family had our get togethers too, just not quite as often and not quite as many family members.

Looking back thru the pictures and other mementos from days gone by, I couldn’t help but be caught back up again in the moments that were captured. The Christmases and birthdays when we opened presents, the milestone birthdays when we rented large lighted signs or people in gorilla suits sent to places of employment, picnics when we had watermelon seed fights, the rededication of our church, first cars, first babies, vacations and so many more events and gatherings. And then I stumbled on my mom, my aunt and me trying to open a wine bottle with my mom and grandma. Yes, the cork was REALLY THAT stuck!

The fact of the matter is this, people grow up, times change, and old memories are replaced with new memories. There was a time a place for all those memories that happened and with all those people thru the years. The thing I’ve learned tho is to see what’s important in life. For example, in my life, each of the hard times that have happened and people who’ve hurt me have directed me to where I want to be in my life and with(or without) certain people. At this particular moment I’m not where I want to be, but I know what and who I want in my life based on past and current events.

There’s one more thing I’ve learned about memories. That it’s important to be present in the moment as that moment presents itself before it becomes just a memory. To many times we, myself included, we jam packed our schedules with stuff which causes us to be in a hurry to get thru events or situations. When we do get thru them we wonder where the time went.

As I reflect on recent times(more like the last few months) I am beginning to be each moment as it unfolds in my life. Perhaps this is because of doing my daily gratitude list each morning. It’s more difficult with the not-so-good times but it’s getting easier.

Thought for the day: Ecclesiastes 3:1-22. That is the full verse but I am only posting thru verse 8. The rest you can look up in the pages of a real Bible or online and in many translations. This is the New World Translation.

There is an appointed time for everything,
A time for every activity under the heavens:
2  A time for birth and a time to die;
A time to plant and a time to uproot what was planted;
3  A time to kill and a time to heal;
A time to tear down and a time to build up;
4  A time to weep and a time to laugh;
A time to wail and a time to dance;
5  A time to throw stones away and a time to gather stones together;
A time to embrace and a time to refrain from embracing;
6  A time to search and a time to give up as lost;
A time to keep and a time to throw away;
7  A time to rip apart and a time to sew together;
A time to be silent and a time to speak;
8  A time to love and a time to hate;
A time for war and a time for peace.

Turn! Turn! Turn!”

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time to be born, a time to die
A time to plant, a time to reap
A time to kill, a time to heal
A time to laugh, a time to weep

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time to build up, a time to break down
A time to dance, a time to mourn
A time to cast away stones
A time to gather stones together

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time of love, a time of hate
A time of war, a time of peace
A time you may embrace
A time to refrain from embracing

To everything – turn, turn, turn
There is a season – turn, turn, turn
And a time to every purpose under heaven

A time to gain, a time to lose
A time to rend, a time to sew
A time for love, a time for hate
A time for peace, I swear it’s not too late!

*** Please be sure to read more of my posts

Leave a Reply

