Choices

Written June 16, 2017

“From the time we wake up in the morning until the time we go to bed at night, our day is full of choices. What we do with our choices is totally up to us” ~ Unknown

Our day is full of choices isn’t it? What to eat, what to drink, what to wear, what music to listen, what tv show/movie to watch, to go to work/school… Or we can choose to not do any of those things. We also have the choice to say, do, act and react or none of the above. Perhaps the latter are some of the most important decisions we can make. It’s the gift of freewill that our Higher Power has given each of us.

How many times do you regret certain choices you’ve made in a day, a year or your lifetime? I know I sure do. I regret some of the relationships I chose to be in, I regret certain things I’ve done at some of my jobs I’ve had, and I’ve regretted many things I’ve done and said. I’ve also regretted choosing not to be in certain relationships, things I’ve done in my jobs and things I haven’t said. There’s also a lot of things I don’t regret doing or saying.

Then again, some of my choices, regretted or not, have shaped my life in numerous ways. The day the apartment house I was living in caught fire, I regretted going to work – at that time. Later I realized it was good that I did for many reasons. Primarily because I wouldn’t be here today if I’d stayed home. I regret the moment I realized painkillers killed more than physical pain.

I don’t regret the day I reached out to my Spiritual Advisor’s family for a copy of his words to continue sharing on his behalf and was instructed to share my words with his. This, too, has shaped my life in innumerable ways. This choice however has not only affected my life but perhaps others who choose to read what I write. I also don’t regret leaving social media before I started writing this post.

The point I’m trying to make is simple. In this world, at this time, we are flooded with tons of information 24hrs a day, 7 days a week. Everywhere we go information comes to us thru the tv, radio, print and the internet, particularly social media. Anyone from the most educated and talented to the least educated and talented can put anything out there – good or bad – for the world to watch, listen to or read. Where trouble lies is when our emotions get out of control. We as receivers of this information have the choice to watch, listen to or read it(or not) and we have the choice to act, react, respond or neither.

I discovered not long ago that putting something on social media was read by a couple of people that I didn’t want to see it. Just as I had the choice to put that post up, these people had the choice to act, react, respond or neither in a positive or negative way. Even tho I’ve known this for some time, this incident truly made me realize that, in this day and age of digital information, each of us has the ability to use it to spew hatred or to spread peace. We can start trouble or we can mend bridges. We can create problems or we can create solutions.

Thought for the day: Whatever choice we make, that choice is ultimately up to us. Will you use your choice for good or bad?

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

Leave a Reply

