Anger

I’m going to switch gears a little bit. A social media friend posts daily readings from  a book called “Say Yes to Your Spirit” by Leo Booth. Every so often he posts ones that strike a chord with me. I thought I’d use the more powerful ones to spread some experience, strength and hope with you.

“Anger

Anger is never without a reason, but seldom with a good one.
~Benjamin Franklin I used to be so angry. Today I realize that my anger was fed by my personal insecurities… I needed a reason to be angry. If I didn’t have one, then I would manufacture one. It was a sad life. Today I rarely get angry.Why? Because I seek to live Say Yes to Your Spirit. In the morning, I read an affirmation book…I’m discovering (my Higher Power) in nature. I’m truly aware of those parts of me that require healing. All of these help me accept others. And I’m less angry. My anger is my responsibility. Occasionally it is appropriate anger.”

Is there anyone who cannot identify with being angry on any level at some point in their lives? I know I sure can. I’ve been angry at different times and for good reason – so I think. I’ve come to realize in the last few years that my anger is actually a lack of acceptance. It’s also expecting to much of people or situations to be better than the way they actually are. I forget that I have no control over everything outside of myself. I do have control over my reaction to other people or situations.

I think this is what we’re seeing all over the world but especially this country. People not accepting the fact that they expect other people or situations to be a certain way. If that person or situation isn’t what they expect they can’t, or don’t want to, accept that it’s out of their control. When people can’t, or don’t, accept the way other people or situations are they get angry and even resentful. Next thing you know, people begin to blame anything and everything under the sun because their expectations were unfulfilled. Once we, myself included of course, begin to accept what is, our anger magically dissipates.

Besides what is listed above, the other thing we can do besides acceptance is put things into perspective. Ask yourself things like, “Why did that driver cut me off? Could they have some emergency?” or better yet, “Why am I so angry that ‘X’ or ‘Y’ happen? Could I have to high of expectations for John or Jane be to high?” When we do these things we are actually putting ourselves in the other person’s shoes. We are empathetic.

Today we have a great many people who are extremely angry for obvious reasons. One reason is because of recent elections. Not only recent elections in this country but also elections in other countries. While there are some things that happen around the world are unacceptable, there are many things in life we, all of us everywhere, must accept(ahem, yes, this includes the safe space people). All to often instead of accepting the stuff we don’t like we blame everything under the sun, including perceived faults of others. I am no stranger to doing this myself. When I look at the real reason why something didn’t go the way I thought it should, acceptance comes a bit easier.

Thought for the day: Acceptance can be a hard pill to swallow but if we swallow our pride, our anger can go away before we know it.

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

Leave a Reply

