Social Media

“I don’t get all that social media stuff. I’ve always got other things I want to to like odd jobs around the house. No one wants to hear about that.” ~ Karl Pilkington

“…if your real friends online say or do something, it affects you. But if your online acquaintances online say or do something, it does not. People, on average, have about 106 Facebook friends, but only five or six real friends.” – Nicholas A. Christakis

“What happened to talking either face to face or on the phone with someone? SO MANY words, thoughts, and feelings can be misunderstood and misconstrued by all this electronic communication crap.”

This was a social media post if wrote about a year or two ago. It was in response to a fight I was in with someone via,…wait for it…, text messaging. Because I was in a hurry and was busy, I responded to a text message with a short reply. My response was taken the wrong way and, well I’m sure you know the rest. This wasn’t the first time or even the last time I’ve done that either. I’m quite certain of 2 things, 1) I’ll do it again and 2) I’m not the only one that this has happened to either

Throughout the ages mankind has had problems with communicating with others. It probably all started the first time JQ Caveman didn’t understand what John Doe Caveman said. Then it just continued when someone, perhaps a king, sent a messenger to deliver a message to someone else, probably another king. Then when man or woman first started writing letters.

Fast forward to the early 1990’s when we began to have our computers takeover more of our physical communication for us. No face to face contact and no hearing the tone of the person we’re talking with. This alleviated our need to have any form of physical contact with another person. Today our electronic devices can fit in our pockets and they have all kinds of bells and whistles to let us know someone sent us some form of message from another human being.  

And then came social media where not so beautiful, socially awkward people with no lives make themselves to look like sophisticated, beautiful people with lives while sophisticated, beautiful people with lives become not so beautiful, socially awkward people with no lives. We broadcast our lives and every emotion for the whole world to see until ultimately we’ve come to understand each other very little.

It’s just like Nicholas A. Christakis said, “People, on average, have about 106 Facebook friends, but only five or six real friends”. And probably half of those “friends” are high school kids they’ve never spoke to while the other half are “friends” in some game like Candy Crush or some hate group that one may be a member of. The problem is none of us truly knows how another person really is on the other side of the computer. We have no clue how those “friends” really are in real life. Which brings me to why I left those groups.

Over the last couple of years I’ve attempted to engage in debates with others over their beliefs, posts or comments on social media. Particularly during our recent presidential election. I found myself getting mad and frustrated because I couldn’t get the other person to see things in a different light plus I also found that there was too much negativity, drama and chaos.

So I sold my farm in Farmville, rehomed my pets in Happy Pets and Happy Aquarium and escaped from Mafia Wars. My primary groups and pages are ones that have positive messages to share. Matter of fact I started a positivity group. It only has a couple hundred members but that’s ok. I know that today I try to be the change in want to see in the world. I try to be part of the solution(sharing positively) and not the problem(spreading negativity).

In the real world, I do have more friends than a small handful. I also have friends thru social media. We have chatted thru our messenger apps. Although it’s not the same as face to face, I’ve gotten to know some beautiful people in this country and around the world. I’ve even been in friendly debates over issues other than politics – and we remain friends. And while I do post a few things in a number of groups, I have time set aside in the morning to do this. If for some strange reason I can’t get back to my social media for much of the day, that’s ok. It’s not the end of my world. It will still be there whenever I get to it.

Thought for the day: After reviewing my statistics for this blog page, I see I’ve had readers from almost every corner of the world. Even places I wouldn’t have expected. I just wanted to give a shout out to you all and say thank you for reading my ramblings.

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

Leave a Reply

