Gratitude

“The unthankful heart discovers no mercies; but the thankful heart will find, in every hour, some heavenly blessings.” ~Henry Ward Beecher

“Start each day with a positive thought and a grateful heart.” ~Roy T. Bennett, The Light in the Heart

I thought today would be a good day to write about a Spiritual Principle called Gratitude. I’m also adding another Spiritual Principle called Humility.

Before anyone thinks I’m going to write about my Higher Power because of the word “Spiritual” allow me to break those two words down. First Spiritual. Spiritual is used to talk about anything that goes beyond mere physical existence, from ghost spirits to religious feelings. A Principle is a kind of rule, belief, or idea that guides you. In general, a Principle is a kind of basic truth that helps you with your life. So basically Spiritual Principles are not religious, but more like a compass that guides us to do good and be good.

Gratitude means thanks and appreciation. When you feel Gratitude, you’re pleased by what someone did for you and also pleased by the results. It’s an feeling of being grateful. Humility is the quality of having a modest or low view of one’s importance, an absence of pride and ego but knowing you’re not a bad or evil person. Humility, even tho it’s related to humiliation, is a better feeling. You feel no better or less than anyone else. You understand and accept your part in the grand scheme of things.

I’ve come to learn that there is always something to be Grateful for in my life. Quite often we feel Gratitude when something good happens to us. We are Grateful when we pass a test, win a contest, or we get a job promotion or find money in our path. We’re always happy and Grateful when things are going our way that we tend to take even the smallest things for granted. This is especially true when we have money in our pockets, food in our cupboards and roofs over our heads. We may even think we’re better than other people. But what about when times are tough?  

Usually, when things are bad, we often bitch, whine, and moan or think our lives are worse than anyone else. Yes, some days, list of things that can go and have gone wrong is longer than the list of what can go and has gone right. Maybe you feel disappointed if you didn’t pass a test or you didn’t win a contest. But what about being down to the last nickel in your pocket, you have no food or you’re homeless. Maybe you are all alone and you feel like no one cares about you. You probably bitch, whine, and moan or think your life is worse than everyone else.  No matter what’s going on in our lives – good or bad – we need to be Grateful for something and this is why.

I used to have a pretty darn good life a felt like I was on top of the world. This was very much true until life started taking some very sharp turns a few years ago. About a year ago, when life seemed particularly bleak, I was told to start writing out a Gratitude list every day. I was told to put even the smallest things on there. So I did. Hey, what could it hurt, right? When I started to do it and I got an idea to post it on social media. I figured that there were others that felt like me and by seeing my list it would remind do others of what they’re Grateful for. And,  just as I thought, seeing my Gratitude list has helped others see the good in their lives.

Since I’ve started doing it, my outlook on life has changed. No, my life hasn’t become a bed of roses but today I can see the blessings in the bad things that happen. I’ve learned to be Grateful for even the smallest things like food in my cupboards. I’ve had a time or 2 when I barely had any food in my cupboards. Even if soup wasn’t what I wanted to eat, I was Grateful to have it. Then I was more Grateful when I got the money to buy food. Even with my current situation of being forced to move to a new home. I was extremely angry because it’s not by choice but at the same time, with my health the way it is, I’m finding it more difficult to care for myself and this property like I need to.

Thanks to doing a Gratitude list every day, I’ve come to be more Grateful for the way my Higher Power works in my life. I have a better understanding of what He wants for me and my life. Most importantly, I understand that to enjoy the good stuff in my life I need to go thru the bad stuff.

So, where does humility come in? Remember I mentioned feeling like our lives are better than or worse than other people? That’s where humility comes in. Realizing that, more often than not, there’s someone out there who’s life is either better or worse than mine. I’m no more special than the person reading this.

Thought for the day: I’d like to give a shout out to the young person in another country that I’ve been chatting with recently. You were the inspiration for this post. After our chats about your life, you strengthened my faith in being Grateful for everything little thing that happens in my life. I am grateful for you.

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

“Dare to Be – Steve Maraboli, Life, the Truth, and Being Free

When a new day begins, dare to smile gratefully.
When there is darkness, dare to be the first to shine a light.
When there is injustice, dare to be the first to condemn it.
When something seems difficult, dare to do it anyway.
When life seems to beat you down, dare to fight back.
When there seems to be no hope, dare to find some.
When you’re feeling tired, dare to keep going.
When times are tough, dare to be tougher.
When love hurts you, dare to love again.
When someone is hurting, dare to help them heal.
When another is lost, dare to help them find the way.
When a friend falls, dare to be the first to extend a hand.
When you cross paths with another, dare to make them smile.
When you feel great, dare to help someone else feel great too.
When the day has ended, dare to feel as you’ve done your best.
Dare to be the best you can –
At all times, Dare to be!”

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

Leave a Reply

