“I Believe…”

Written August 1, 2015(edited 2017)

“I believe that we are here for each other, not against each other. Everything comes from an understanding that you are a gift in my life – whoever you are, whatever our differences.” ~John Denver…How true. Thank you for the gifts you have brought me…Much love… ~Doug

I stumbled on this the other day as I was working on something else. I originally wrote it in 2015 and thought I’d expand on it a bit and share it with you.

I felt compelled to write on this today. I find myself reflecting on this in light of recent events that have happened in my life. Mainly the loss of family, friends, and loved ones either because of death or other reasons for leaving. I think back to some of the very first people who have helped me.

Starting with my math teacher who helped me not quit on anything, whether it was in my homework or when I had to run a mile for my gym class. She had a way of persuading me. I remember the days I stayed after school for her help. She kept telling me that I was doing good and if I messed up, she told me to try again.

One day in my gym class, I had to run a mile for my grade. At that time I was running on the track team but I was a sprinter. I had a very difficult time with distance. This particular day, she was on a lunch break and came down for a short run because she was very active in sports herself. She saw me struggling on the track and caught up with me. She told me she’d help me finish the run. As we ran together she kept saying things like, “Don’t give up now! You’re almost there!”, “I’m proud of you for not quitting!” and the most memorable, “If you quit now I’m going to make you kiss the asphalt!” Needless to say I finished my run out of the sheer fear she would’ve made me actually kiss the asphalt! To this day I push myself just a little bit harder than I should. I don’t know if it my stubborn nature or hearing those words in my head when I want to give up but what she taught me was a gift – the gift of perseverance.

There was also a nun who gave me a lecture and a most helpful lesson. I decided one night to skip Sunday school and go to a local under 18 dance club. When my mother caught me she brought me back to the church where a nun was waiting for me. I’ll admit, after hearing stories about nuns back in the day, I was scared. I had visions of having to say a gazillion prayers and a crack of a ruler on my knuckles. She began by telling me about the very real troubling times we were living in. Before I knew it, she ended up counseling me on the importance of faith, honesty and so on. That was her gift to me.

Thru the years I’ve come to realize that the people who have come into my life and left have been gifts too. The ones I’ve loved, been hurt by, and have come back into, my life have taught me about the realities of life. They’ve also taught me things like acceptance, patience, tolerance, and perseverance. I may not have liked that some people did things that I didn’t like, however, I am grateful to each of them for the lessons they taught me and the gifts they’ve shared with me.

So to all of you are or were in my life, the ones I love, like, dislike, detest, along with the doubters and the naysayers, also the ones who are still alive and those who’ve passed on from this life, I say thank you. I thank you for the lessons you’ve taught me and the gifts you’ve shared with me.

Thought for the day: There’s a reason for everything that happens and people come into and out of our lives for a reason. Learn all that you can from those situations and people while you can. You never know when those lessons will come in handy to help yourself or someone you know.

***Please be sure to read more of my posts

Leave a Reply

